17 Again

About a year ago, I decided to join the Formspring world. I’ve stopped accepting questions for the time being, but I’d like to share this particular question. It’s always been my favorite!

Q: If you were giving advice to your 17 year old self, what would it be?

A: Dear 17 year old Vinette,

The years to come will be amazing!! A lot of ups and downs, but nevertheless, YOU’RE GOING TO HAVE THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE. So advice? I’ll be cliche. Be strong. Life isn’t a race. Always look at the glass half full. BE GRACIOUS TO EVERYONE. Be blunt, tell it how it REALLY IS, but never be rude. Fight for your passions. Take action. Do what you believe in. Go on adventures, either by yourself, but company always makes it better. Holdfast to your dreams, if that makes any sense. Keep your priorities straight, no matter what. Now that last one, REALLY, don’t ever veer off from what you want. Listen to people and their stories. PARTY!! Don’t be afraid to let things completely change you, but in the good sense. Oh, and don’t forget to travel. As for colleges, I know you’re scrambling to find the perfect one right about now. I’ll be honest, that one’s going to take a while, but you’ll find an Edward Cullen of a college later on AND I MEAN A EDWARD CULLEN. You’ll just meet a few Jacobs along the way. Other advice? Be thankful. Hugs are important. Love. And JUST LIVE.

Love,

You’re recently 21 year old self.

Well, there you have it. The best advice I could give myself. AND to you. I hope it makes sense.

Leave a Reply

